PERFECTION

PERFECTION

Position vs. Practice

 

 The first chapter of Ephesians lists all the blessings we enjoy because of what Christ has done for us.  These are our POSITION in Christ—blessed, chosen, holy, blameless, adopted, accepted, redeemed, forgiven, heirs, and sealed!

 

Being the perfectionist that I am, I have this deep desire to have my PRACTICE perfectly reflect my POSITION, and it surely does not!  This is a frustration and a grief to me; and then God led me to  Galatians 4, which in its context really has nothing to do with my dilemma, but the Spirit of God directed it in my heart so that it became perfectly applicable. 

 

It says “the heir, as long as he is a child, is no different from a servant, though he will eventually be lord of all; but is under tutors and governors until the time appointed by the father.”  It was as though God was saying, “You ARE my heir but you are still a school child.”  Perhaps my tutor is the Holy Spirit and the governor is His word to teach this child the needed lessons for growth and maturity.

 

And I said, “But as I look back at my life, I can see so many things that if I knew then what I know now, I would have responded to the situation so differently L”  And the reply came,  “You are still a school child.  What you know now as a high schooler is far more than you knew as a kindergartener.  You are gaining more knowledge all the time, and one day, when I know the time is right, I will allow you to graduate and become my heir.”

 

And then I thought, “But to become an heir involves the death of the testator. God the Father is not dead, but God the Son did die and  His death provided for me all those blessings of my POSITION; and His death (providing forgiveness for my sins and failures) also qualifies me to be His heir as I’m struggling with my PRACTICE, so that when I graduate, my position and practice will be synonymous.

 

I praise Him for that!!!!

 

One thought on “PERFECTION

  1. Edith,

    I love this reflection. I often tell the men in my Bible reading group that there is a very big difference in positional sanctification and progressive sanctification.

    Once we are justified freely by grace, through faith in Jesus Christ alone we are immediately sanctified positionally (i.e. washed clean of sin by the blood and imputed Christ’s righteousness). But as we are still alive in this fallen world the task of the Christian is to, through a Spirit-led grace-driven effort, progressively work out our sanctification.

    That is, until the Father calls us home to be with him. That’s when our progressive sanctification will meet up with our positional sanctification and we will be fully glorified, with Christ, in the presence of the Father.

    I praise him for that as well!!!

    -Chris Martin

Leave a Reply

