MIRACLE OF COMFORT

Several years after my husband passed away, I began to wonder if I should move closer to one of my children so that I would not be so isolated and alone.  So I took a six-month hiatus to be with all five of them, spending approximately five weeks with each one.  It became quite obvious during that time that God was not giving the green light for a move, so I flew back to Dallas and my home there.

As we were in the descent pattern for landing at DFW airport, I was looking out the window and praying, “God, how am I going to handle this?  I’ve been with my precious family for six months, and now I’m coming home to be all alone again.  How will I be able to make it?”

And out on the clouds there suddenly appeared a full, round rainbow…a complete circle.  And in the center of that circle was the shadow of the plane I was flying in. It was like His promise to me that I was going to be surrounded by His loving presence; and in all the following nine years that I was living there alone,  I never once felt lonely or unhappy, but had a life of great contentment and peace.

And then came a day when I heard a word in my spirit, “It’s time to go,” and I puzzled over that.  Was it really God giving me a new direction?  I told Him I wouldn’t have the first clue how to sell my house, where He wanted me to go, or how to handle any of the multitude of details that a move would entail.  Then He gave me a Scripture which made its impact, “Behold I send an angel before you to keep you in the way, and to bring you into the place that I have prepared for you.”  Then a call came from one of my children saying, “Mom have you ever thought of moving to Denver?”  I began yielding to God’s will and He opened doors before me that I didn’t even know were there.  When a problem would arise and I didn’t know what to do next, suddenly someone would be there with God’s answer, often without that person even knowing of the problem.  God is so creative!!

Finally He had all the pieces in place, furniture and car on the moving van, and I was in the plane headed for Denver.  Again I was looking out the window and praying, committing this new situation into God’s hands, and my life to His use in a new location.  And out on the clouds there appeared a round rainbow with the shadow of my plane in the center!!!  I knew, beyond any doubt, that I was not moving do Denver alone…that I was in God’s will, and that His presence would continue to surround me.

“I will never leave you nor forsake you” is His promise.  What a good Father!!!!

One thought on “MIRACLE OF COMFORT

  1. 2/20/16
    WOW!! What an inspirational Testimony!!
    It displays the Faithfulness of Our Heavenly Father& a Life lived under the Shadow of the Almighty!
    Thank You for sharing Your stories; I am always greatly encouraged when I read them !

Leave a Reply

