ABIDING IN CHRIST

 Job 15:15,16 “Behold He putteth no trust in His saints; yea, the heavens are not clean in His sight.  How much more abominable and filthy is man, which drinketh iniquity like water.”

The greatness of Almighty God!                                                                                                With Job I cry, “Behold I am vile.”  My prayer is, “How can I please Thee?  Behold I am vile.  In my flesh dwelleth no good thing.  I am undone!  Oh God, finish my undoing completely so there will be nothing left of me, and so I will be conformed to the Image of Christ.  Oh my Father, I want to please Thee.”

In a moment He responds, “This is My beloved Son in whom I am WELL- PLEASED!  If you be in Christ in whom I am well-pleased, you are a new creature.   Old things are passed away.  Behold, all thing are become new.”

“Ah, yes Lord, but to dwell IN CHRIST!  Teach me how.”

“Abide in Him,” comes the answer.

“And how does the abiding come about?”

“If ye keep My commandments, ye shall abide in My love.”

“What have you commanded, Lord?”

“This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.” (Jn. 15:12)

“How do You love me, Lord?”

“As the Father loves Me, that’s how I love you.”  (Jn. 15:9)

“You mean I’m to love others with the same love that Almighty God has for His only begotten Son?  But that is impossible!  Impossible!  How could it be?”

“I am the true vine, My Father is the husbandman.  I am the vine, you are the branches.  Your life is coming from Me.  Therefore your love is coming from Me; and the Father, the husbandman, is attending lovingly to His vineyard.  When He sees the leaf drooping, and the leaf asks for water, He gives that water to the Vine which carries it to the leaf.  “Whatsoever you shall ask of the Father in My name will be given unto you.”

Asking in Jesus’ name is asking that God give us our requests through the Vine in whom we are abiding, and from whom comes all our  life, strength, love and fruit.  What a complete unbroken circle!

Leave a Reply

